Is there sex selection among Asian immigrants in the US?

Family Inequality

There is a 2008 paper reported in the New York Timesin 2009, which found skewed sex ratios among children of immigrants from China, Korea, and India, if their older siblings were girls, using the 2000 Census. The implication was that some parents were using IVF or abortion to select boy children if their first two were girls — as is the case in their home countries. There has been some other research on this from the early 2000s, but I haven’t seen it updated since then.

I took a quick stab at it, but don’t have time right now to pursue it more thoroughly. So here’s the quick answer I got, and I shared my data, code, and results in an Open Science Framework project, here. I hope someone will be interested and pursue it further (using my approach or not). The files there include all different ethnic/racial groups.

Ver o post original 304 mais palavras

Sobre CASSIARN

"Tenho um coração maior do que eu, nunca sei minha altura, tenho o tamanho de um sonho. E o sonho escreve a minha vida que às vezes eu risco, rabisco, embolo e jogo debaixo da cama (pra descansar a alma e dormir sossegada). ."(..)" Certas coisas não se explicam. Não existem palavras que as descrevam ou soluções que as resolva. Sentimentos, gestos, sonhos e sorrisos. A alma entende e a boca cala. (Fernanda Mello)
Esse post foi publicado em VIVER. Bookmark o link permanente.

Deixe um comentário

