Demographic facts your students should know cold

Family Inequality

Here’s an update of a series I started in 2013, and updated in 2016.

Is it true that “facts are useless in an emergency“? Depends how you define emergency I guess. I used to have a little justification for why we need to know demographic facts, as “the building blocks of first-line debunking.” It’s facts plus arithmetic that let us ballpark the claims we are exposed to all the time. The idea was to get our radar tuned to identify falsehoods as efficiently as possible, to prevent them spreading and contaminating reality. Although I grew up on “facts are lazy and facts are late,” I actually still believe in this mission, I just shake my head slowly while I ramble on about it.

It started a few years ago with the idea that the undergraduate students in my class should know the size of the US population. Not to exaggerate…

Ver o post original 550 mais palavras

Sobre CASSIARN

"Tenho um coração maior do que eu, nunca sei minha altura, tenho o tamanho de um sonho. E o sonho escreve a minha vida que às vezes eu risco, rabisco, embolo e jogo debaixo da cama (pra descansar a alma e dormir sossegada). ."(..)" Certas coisas não se explicam. Não existem palavras que as descrevam ou soluções que as resolva. Sentimentos, gestos, sonhos e sorrisos. A alma entende e a boca cala. (Fernanda Mello)
Esse post foi publicado em VIVER. Bookmark o link permanente.

Deixe um comentário

